IT.COM

.tv .tv domains at GreatDomains...

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch

REM503

Account Closed
Impact
I am pretty new to the world of domain names and would like to hear some opinions on the .tv extension. Obviously, I know all things being equal that domains with the .tv extension are not as valuable as those ending with .com or .net. I am just wondering how much less they are worth. If a good, one word domain name has a .tv extension, would it be worth around 20% of what it would be worth if it had a .com extension? 10%?

I looked at some of the listings on GreatDomains with the .tv extension and am wondering if many of those names sell at the prices they are listed at, or will they sell for dramatically less when all is said and done? For example, barbeques.tv is listed at $10,000. How much would you guess that name will actually sell for? Here is a link to the page I was looking at:

http://www.greatdomains.com/en-def-ee01b7c7f4fa/domain_browse_tv.shtml

•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
I am just wondering how much less they are worth. If a good, one word domain name has a .tv extension, would it be worth around 20% of what it would be worth if it had a .com extension? 10%?

I think a good one word .tv is worth 10-30% to it's .com version

looked at some of the listings on GreatDomains with the .tv extension and am wondering if many of those names sell at the prices they are listed at, or will they sell for dramatically less when all is said and done?

According to Plasma.tv owner, who happens to be a fellow NPer, Plasma.tv sold about 50% less of his asking price so therefore, I believe that thoes front prices are extremely higher to the actual price that was paid for a real sale.

I also believe that Greatdomains is just "overpricing" a .tv name. Thus, lots of people believe that a .tv is much as worth as a .com .. increaseth public/market appeal.

Greatdomains and .TV registry are both Verisign owned.