NameSilo

Interview with the owner of Umdum Directory thread

Spaceship Spaceship
Watch
Impact
Interview with the owner of Umdum Directory

Interview with the owner of Umdum Directory

Interview done by Directory-Owners.Com

Q. Are you able to give us a short insight into your background?

Sure, I've been involved off and on in SEO and web marketing since 1998, when I was a University student interning for a local Internet marketing company. After years of agency work, I began blogging about the search engine industry, and built the Search Engine Journal from scratch. Search Engine Journal is read by an average of 7,000 people each day and covers everything from SEO to MySpace to YPN to ISEDN.

I'd say that my online marketing strengths are in the foundations of online PR, blog marketing, quality link building and basic SEO.

Q. How did the idea of Umdum Directory come to you?

I had wanted to build my own directory for sometime and finally got up the nerve to get something together. I'd have to say that our designer, Brian (http://www.juggopop.com) really put together one heck of a template which breathed life into the project.

Q. What was your biggest challenge getting the Umdum Directory to where it is now?

Getting past that initial directory hump. If you follow some of the forums, web directories can be a dime a dozen, especially with all of the php powered instant directories out there. With Umdum, the goal is to harness the power of a trusted directory, but since I was a bit late to the market, the challenge was to stand out a bit.

Q. In your view what makes Umdum Directory unique and special?

The design is top notch, very fluid, mean & green; without being super Web 2.0.

Q. What are the main points that make Umdum Directory stand out from all the rest?